«

»

Print this Post

Graduated Driver’s License Information

Graduated Driver’s License Information


 

Teens are at the highest risk of being involved in a car crash during the first 12 to 24 months of driving.  Some of leading causes of teen crashes include distraction, carry passengers, nighttime driving and speed according the National Highway Traffic Safety Association.  Furthermore, a teen driver’s fatality risk increases by 44 percent with one passenger, and doubles with two passengers and quadruples when carrying three passengers or more according to the American Automobile Association (AAA).

With this in mind New Jersey has previously instituted the Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) laws that are recognized as the single most effective tool for reducing teen driver crashes, injuries and deaths.  While New Jersey’s GDL is considered one of the most progressive and stringent in the Uited States, it must be clearly understood and supported by parents to save lives.  To that end, ensuring that parents and teen fully understand the risks and responsibilities associated with driving is essential to teen driver safety.

New Jersey residents who have never had a driver license must follow New Jersey Graduated Driver’s License Program to get their first unrestricted basic driver license.  The GDL is designed to give new drivers increased, step-by-step instruction and driving experience on the road to obtaining a basic driver license.  The GDL has been proven to save lives among new drivers and their passengers.

Some facts about the law are as follows.  A teen driver with a GDL may not drive between 11:01 pm and 5:00 am. (More than 40 percent of teen driver fatal crashes occur between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. To qualify for the work or religious exemption, drivers must carry legible documentation on letterhead signed by the employer, organization or religious institution stating the reasons for the request to exempt curfew restrictions.  The letter must include signature, title, address and telephone number of the designated official.

The teen driver with a GDL may only transport one passenger, unless the driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian or the passengers are the driver’s dependents (children).  They can not use a cell phone (hand held or hands free), hand held video games or any other hand-held wireless electronic devices (i.e. ipads, GPS).  The GDL driver must also ensure that they and all of their passengers wear seatbelts.

The GDL driver must also display the GDL decals on any vehicle that they driver.  The decal is placed on the front and rear license plate and are available for $4.00 a pair at the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) throughout New Jersey.

If a GDL driver violates any provision under the GDL Law they may face a fine of $100.00.  Effective September 17, 2008 the Attorney General banned municipal prosecutors from offering plea agreements to all GDL holders.

More information can be located at our website at www.wallpolice.org and www.njteendriving.com.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.wallpolice.org/2589